summer in the van.

One of the big debates I’ve had with myself since making the decision to stay in San Diego was what to do about my living situation. I absolutely love living in my van, but one of the agreements when I moved to my current location, was that The Beast and I would be leaving in April. Part of this was so that I wouldn’t overstay my welcome, but the other, and far more important reason, was that it will be getting extremely hot since it’s quite a ways inland from the coast. I’m not concerned for myself regarding the heat since I am gone almost every day for work, but taking into account my cat’s wellbeing is another story. Even with all the windows and vents open and the fact that my van is parked in the shade, I was worried the heat could get to be too much for her.

For a few weeks, I was slowly resigning to the fact that I’d have to give up van-dwelling for a brick-and-mortar apartment…at least for the summer. As much as having unlimited access to a shower sounded tempting to me, I felt like I was somehow giving up or failing. Upon the realization that I might be getting an apartment, an anxiety began to build inside of me. I was worried I’d be tempted to start acquiring stuff again. A couch, a nightstand…some more pots and pans. The more I thought about it, the more distraught and worried I became. Money was also a huge factor, seeing as I haven’t made any in a while as I acquire more experience and slowly work with more and more buyers at my new job.

After accepting my fate and deciding to try to rent a studio below a friend’s home, my boss and his housemate unexpectedly told me that I was welcome to stay as long as I wanted. As a fix for the concern of baking my poor cat Loulou in the summer heat, we’ve been taking her inside the house to get her acclimated to new surroundings and their two pets (a cat named Socks and a dog named Bella). She’s adapted really well and now goes inside the house for “play-dates” with Socks every day while I’m at work. With that problem solved, there isn’t any other reason for me to consider giving up van-dwelling, so I’ve been able to sigh a breath of relief knowing I’m safe and sound in my minimalist lifestyle on wheels for at least a little while longer.

4 thoughts on “summer in the van.

  1. What do you think about the tiny house on wheels? Perhaps that might be a good option for you in the future? Almost the same as living in a van but it would have heating, cooling and a shower 😛

    • I LOVE the little Tumbleweed houses and often spend hours browsing the plans and drooling over the website. Building one is definitely on the list of things I’d like to do at some point.

      • Kinda late notice! (and b/c of the late notice it’s a little expensive :/) but Saturday in San Jose is a Tiny House workshop! (where they teach ya how to build one!)

  2. I’m glad to hear that you are welcomed to stay at your boss’s house. Since realistically you would start to gain stuff and get comfy in a studio. That’s all fine and good if that is what you want but it doesn’t seem your heart is interested in settling down. I’m hoping to get on the road soon just looking for the right van. I love to read stories from other van dwellers who are out there living the life. I have bookmarked your blog and will be back. Have a good summer and save, save, save, so when fall comes you can go, go, go.

Leave a Reply

